The National Bank Open, formerly Rogers Cup

Via rail top seeds: World No. 1 Iga Swiatek tops list for 2022 National Bank Open presented by Rogers

Brought to you by
August 1, 2022
Brought to you by

The final stop is in sight!

With the National Bank Open Presented by Rogers less than a week away, Via Rail presents the tournament’s top seeds as the WTA’s best are on track to Toronto to take part in one of most iconic stops the tour has to offer.

On Monday, Tennis Canada announced the names of the top seeds for the 2022 edition of the National Bank Open presented by Rogers. Iga Swiatek, the new record holder for the longest match win streak in the 21st century (37), will lead the charge in Toronto. The seedings follow the official WTA rankings as of today (Monday, August 1), with the Top 16 ranked players entered in the tournament being seeded.

In Toronto, Swiatek, who has been the hottest player on tour this season, will headline the women’s singles draw. Swiatek dazzled the Toronto crowd in her only previous appearance at the event in 2019, as the then-qualifier reached the round of 16 with impressive victories over Ajla Tomljanovic and 2010 National Bank Open champion Caroline Wozniacki. Some of the marquee names joining the world No. 1 are 2021 WTA Finals runner-up Anett Kontaveit, world No. 3 Maria Sakkari, 2021 BNP Paribas Open champion Paula Badosa, and winner of this year’s Mutua Madrid Open, Ons Jabeur. The only seeded Canadian woman is 19-year-old Leylah Annie Fernandez, who will be entering the tournament as the 13th seed.

“We are excited to host the greatest women’s player field in history at the 2022 National Bank Open presented by Rogers,” said Karl Hale, Tournament Director of the National Bank Open in Toronto. “Fans will get the privilege to watch legends Serena and Venus Williams, Canadians Leylah Annie Fernandez and defending Toronto champion Bianca Andreescu, and many other great stars, as they fight for a shot at our prestigious National Bank Open trophy. It’s sure to be one for the record books.”

Taking place in Montreal, 2021 champion Daniil Medvedev will have his eyes set on his fifth ATP Masters 1000 crown as he makes his way to Canada for the fifth time in his career. Standing in the way of his title defence is five-time champion and tournament No. 2 seed, Rafael Nadal. The Spaniard won the event in 2008 as the second seed, and 14 years later, still has the skills to do it. Rounding out the Top 5 are 2022 Masters 1000 winners Carlos Alcaraz (Miami & Madrid), Stefanos Tsitsipas (Monte-Carlo), and Novak Djokovic (Rome). Montreal-native Félix Auger-Aliassime, who is currently ranked No. 9 on the ATP Tour, will be the No. 8 seed at the event in his home city.

“It’s a great feeling to see top ATP players return to Montreal,” said Eugène Lapierre, Tournament Director of the National Bank Open in Montreal. “Players appreciate coming to Montreal because they know the stadium will be packed with passionate and supportive fans. On the other hand, fans understand how privileged they are that the National Bank Open presented by Rogers is part of tennis’ very top international series. This year, amongst the top seeds, they’ll get to cheer for an exciting crop of young stars, including Carlos Alcaraz, Casper Ruud, and our very own Félix Auger-Aliassime.”

The official draw ceremonies of both tournaments, used to determine the week’s match-ups, will be held on Friday, August 5.

Complete list of seeds:


1  Iga Swiatek (POL)1
2  Anett Kontaveit (EST)2
3  Maria Sakkari (GRE)3
4  Paula Badosa (ESP)4
5  Ons Jabeur (TUN)5
6  Aryna Sabalenka6
7  Jessica Pegula (USA)7
8  Garbine Muguruza (ESP)8
9  Emma Raducanu (GBR)10
10  Coco Gauff (USA)11
11  Daria Kasatkina12
12  Belinda Bencic (SUI)13
13  Leylah Annie Fernandez (CAN)14
14  Karolina Pliskova (CZE)15
15  Simona Halep (ROU)16
16  Jelena Ostapenko (LAT)17


1  Daniil Medvedev1
2  Rafael Nadal (ESP)3
3  Carlos Alcaraz (ESP)4
4  Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)5
5  Novak Djokovic (SRB)6
6  Casper Ruud (NOR)7
7  Andrey Rublev8
8  Félix Auger-Aliassime (CAN)9
9  Jannik Sinner (ITA)10
10  Hubert Hurkacz (POL)11
11  Taylor Fritz (USA)12
12  Cameron Norrie (GBR)13
13  Matteo Berrettini (ITA)14
14  Diego Schwartzman (ARG)15
15  Marin Cilic (CRO)16
16  Reilly Opelka (USA)17

Owned and operated by Tennis Canada, the prestigious National Bank Open presented by Rogers attracts the biggest stars in tennis year after year. In 2022, the men’s event will take place at Stade IGA in Montreal from August 5 to 14, while the women’s event will take place at Sobeys Stadium in Toronto from August 6 to 14.

To purchase tickets to the tournament in Toronto, go to For tickets to the tournament in Montréal, go to

Sportsnet is the official English broadcaster and TVA Sports is the official French broadcaster of the 2022 National Bank Open.